© Marco Borrelli

Quartetto Guadagnini & Enrico Bronzi

Franz Schubert
String Quartet no. 12 in C minor D. 703 “Quartettsatz”

Franz Schubert
String Quintet in C major Op. 163 D. 956

The special Schubertiade proposed by the Guadagnini Quartet with the internationally renowned cellist Enrico Bronzi opens with an “incomplete” string quartet. This famous symphony is not the only work that Schubert left unfinished, abandoning the work in 1820 after completing an Allegro of dazzling expressive tension and the first four bars of the Andante. The Guadagnini Quartet, winner of the prestigious “Piero Farulli Prize, and the famous cellist Bronzi will then move on to the Quintet Schubert completed just two months before his death, considered his finest chamber work. With its complex architecture, it is a sort of harmonic kaleidoscope where the extra cello, doubling the lower range, creates an almost symphonic atmosphere.

The Programme