© Luca Concas

Brahms’s three violin and piano sonatas

Justina Auskelyte violin
Cesare Pezzi piano

Johannes Brahms
Sonata no. 1 in G major for violin and piano, Op. 78
Sonata no. 2 in A major for violin and piano, Op. 100
Sonata no. 3 in D minor for violin e piano, Op. 108

“High formal sobriety and tender expressive intimacy” are, in Massimo Mila’s words, the traits that equally concur in defining the mood of Brahms’ Sonatas for violin and piano. It is a fact that these “mature” works, composed over the 1879-1888 decade, pick up the cumbersome legacy of Beethoven’s chamber music to achieve a rigorous, traditional formal balance, an expression of sentiment and aesthetic freedom, an apparent spontaneity where the symphonic experience adapts to the intimate dimension of a dialogue between two parties. These scores, where the piano and the violin confront each other in an equal relationship, are ideal for the brilliant and well-established duo formed by Lithuanian violinist Justina Auskelyte and Ravenna-born pianist Cesare Pezzi.

About 1h 20’ without intermission

The programme