© Marco Parollo

Arete String Quartet

Chae-Ann Jeon, Dong-Hwi Kim violins
Yoon-sun Jang viola
Seong-hyeon Park cello

Franz Joseph Haydn
String quartet in B minor, Op. 33 No. 1 Hob. III: 37

Alban Berg
Lyrische Suite for string quartet

Robert Schumann
String quartet in F major, Op. 41 No. 2

in collaboration with Scuola di Musica di Fiesole
ECMA – European Chamber Musica Academy

“A respectful homage to the genre of the string quartet”: how else could we define a programme that combines three landmarks in the repertoire dedicated to the most “noble” of chamber music ensembles, which also share an intensely poetic vein? Haydn’s “Russian” Quartet, which Mozart especially loved, the first in a series that the composer himself defined as «a new and entirely special kind, for I haven’t written any for ten years», will be followed by the work that established Schumann’s maturity in the difficult sphere of the string quartet, and then by the unmistakable twelve-tone lyricism of Alban Berg. All titles will be performed by the multi-award-winning Arete Quartet, born in September 2019 of the encounter of four young and talented Korean musicians, now associated with the prestigious Fiesole School of Music.

The event will be streamed starting from 17 July at 9.30 pm on ravennafestival.live

The Programme