© Zani-Casadio

Anne-Sophie Mutter and the Mutter’s Virtuosi have decided to renounce their fees for this concert: whereas the artists’ donation is going to benefit the Municipal School of Music “Giuseppe Sarti” of Faenza, which was severely damaged in the flood in May, the concert is open to the public free of charge.

Free admission by reservation (from 16 June): info Alighieri Theatre Box Office +39 0544 249244, online ravennafestival.org

Those who have already bought a ticket for the event are going to be contacted by the Ravenna Festival’s box office and given the choice between obtaining a refund or donating the ticket price to flood-related charities.

> Read more

Anne-Sophie Mutter
& Mutter’s Virtuosi

Antonio Vivaldi (1678 – 1741)
Concerto in F major for three violins, strings and continuo RV 551
Allegro, Andante, Allegro
Violin 1 Solo Anne-Sophie Mutter
Violin 2 Solo Elias David Moncado
Violin 3 Solo Mohamed Hiber

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Violin Concerto in A minor BWV 1041
Allegro, Andante, Allegro assai
Violin Solo Anne-Sophie Mutter

André Previn (1929-2019)
Nonet (Italian premiere)
I. A Promenade, II. Declamatory. Interlude for Solo Violin and Contrabass, III. Presto, scurrying
Quartet 1 Anne-Sopie Mutter, Mohamed Hiber, Hwayoon Lee, Lionel Martin
Quartet 2 Elias David Moncado, Samuel Nebyu, Matthew Lipman, Margarita Balanas
Contrabass Dominik Wagner

Johann Sebastian Bach
Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major BWV 1048
Allegro, Adagio, Allegro
Violin Anne-Sophie Mutter, Mohamed Hiber, Elias David Moncado
Viole Hwayoon Lee, Matthew Lipman, Muriel Razavi
Celli Lionel Martin, Sakura Toba, Margarita Balanas
Contrabass Dominik Wagner
Harpsichord Knut Johannessen

Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de Saint-Georges (1745-1799)
Violin Concerto in A major No. 2 Op. 5
(versione a cura di Allan Badley)
Allegro moderato, Largo, Rondeau
Violin Solo Anne-Sophie Mutter

Talent spotting is key: German violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter was only thirteen when Herbert von Karajan invited her to play with the Berlin Philharmonic. She in turn founded the Mutter Virtuosi, an ensemble of brilliant musicians from the Anne-Sophie Mutter Foundation. Their programme starts with the only concerto that Vivaldi composed for three solo violins, and continues with Bach and Joseph Bologne, who in the late XVIII century, at the court of Louis XVI, was one of the first composers of African descent to receive European recognition. The ensemble will also perform the Italian premiere of Nonet by André Previn, a celebrated conductor who also made a name for himself as a composer, winning four Oscars for ‘Best Score’.

The Programme