© Zani-Casadio

Over the Noise of Time

Orchestra Filarmonica di San Pietroburgo
conductor Yuri Temirkanov
piano Denis Matsuev
trumpet Bogdan Dekhtiaruk

Dmitrij Šostakovič
Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and Orchestra no. 1
Symphony no. 7 in C major “Leningrad”

Writer Julian Barnes had Shostakovich reflect that “Art is the whisper of history, heard above the music of time”. For sure, no score can be a better expression of History than Shostakovich’s grandiose and monumental Symphony no. 7: written between 1941 and 1942, during the prolonged siege of Leningrad by the German army, it is a symbol of the extreme resistance and vitality of the city and of the Russian people. In short, History becomes Art, and now receives a tribute by Russian conductor Temirkanov and the Orchestra of this glorious city, whose unpredictable destiny changed its name from Leningrad to St Petersburg, while Russian talent Denis Matsuev captures the playful yet caustic tone of the Piano Concerto no. 1, a clever mix of parodies and quotations.

1st Part 25’ – Intermission 20’ – 2nd Part 1h 15’
Total about 2h