© Luca Concas

Tribute to Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) for the 100th anniversary of his birth
Romance del diablo

Marco Albonetti soprano saxophone and saxophone
Orchestra Filarmonica Italiana

Astor Piazzolla
Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas
Romance del Diablo
Años de Soledad


orchestration by Marco Albonetti and Pablo Ziegler*

Astor Piazzolla’s music feeds on contamination, which is why purists call him “the tango killer”. But his original sin was merely the assimilation of the various influences of his multifaceted land, built on the nostalgic dreams of the emigrants. His “Nuevo Tango” incorporates elements from jazz and classical music, in an unprecedented richness of colours. As he explained, “I had two great teachers: Nadia Boulanger and Alberto Ginastera. A third one was Buenos Aires”. His Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas, an impression of the four seasons in Buenos Aires, are the Argentinian answer to Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. In Marco Albonetti’s arrangement, the saxophone takes the place of the bandoneón, and gives a new voice to the feeling of time of the Porteños, those born in Buenos Aires, Piazzolla’s secret teachers.

The Programme