© Luca Concas

Quartetto Echos
Abbiati Award “Piero Farulli” 2017

Andrea Maffolini violin
Ida Di Vita violin
Giorgia Lenzo viola
Martino Maina cello

Anton Webern Langsamer Satz for string quartet Wo06
Leóš Janaček Quartet no. 2 “Lettres intimes”
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Quartet in C major in do maggiore or “Dissonance” K 465

in collaboration with Scuola di Musica di Fiesole, Accademia Europea del Quartetto – European Chamber Music Academy

Relationships, thin threads and sometimes hidden ties between individuals and musical styles: this seems to be the path chosen by the young musicians of Quartetto Echos, born in 2013 at the Turin Conservatory and soon awarded the Abbiati “Piero Farulli” Prize (2017). Mozart’s “Dissonance” Quartet (whose nickname is due to the harmonic boldness of the initial Adagio) is dedicated to Haydn: like a father with a child, the composer “confided [it] to the protection and guidance of a very celebrated Man […] and great friend”. Langsamer Satz, instead, composed by 22-year-old Webern before he became a master of the Second Vienna School, was influenced by Brahms’s melodism. As for Janacek’s mature Quartet “Intimate Letters”, it was intended to reflect the character of the author’s relationship with Kamila-Stösslová as revealed in their correspondence.

The Programme