© Angelo Palmieri

Quartetto Adorno
Edoardo Zosi violin
Liù Pelliciari violin
Benedetta Bucci viola
Danilo Squitieri cello

Ludwig van Beethoven
String Quartet in E minor No. 2 op. 59 “Rasumowsky”

Anton Webern
Five pieces for strings, Op. 5

Claude Debussy
String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10

in collaboration with
European Chamber Music Academy – Music school of Fiesole

The Adorno Quartet (named after the German philosopher who staunchly defended Viennese classicism and an idea of progress that culminated in the second Viennese school) proposes a triptych of emblematic works. It is no coincidence that they start with a quartet from Beethoven’s Op. 59, composed in 1805-1806 for Russian ambassador Rasumowsky and influenced by the Eroica symphony, Fidelio and the Third Piano Concerto. Their point of arrival is the tonal and thematic dissolution of Webern’s Five Pieces (1909), where the composer started his tone colour and instrumental explorations. In between, they propose Debussy’s sole Quartet (1892-3), where the composer, influenced by César Franck’s Quatuor, mitigated his intolerance towards tradition through the mastery of academic composition.

1st Part 40’ – Intermission 15’ – 2nd Part 35’
Total 1h 30’