© Silvia Lelli

Autumn Trilogy: the Dance, the Music, the Word
Dante Metànoia
by and with Sergei Polunin

“Poca favilla gran fiamma seconda” (Paradiso I, 34)

choreography Ross Freddie Ray
music Miroslav Bako
video design – mapping Yan Yanko
Dante’s voice Vincenzo Spirito

choreography Sergei Polunin
music Gregory Reveret
video design – mapping Marcella Grimaux, Aaron Kaufman, Daniel Faubert – Noisy Head Studio
stage design Noisy Head Studio and The Fury

choreography Jiří Bubeníček
music Kirill Richter
set and video design Otto Bubeníček

Kemal Gekic, Kirill Richter
vocals Andjela Ninkovic
Gianmarco Petrucci
lighting design Konstantin Binkin
technical director Steve Mauri
costume assistant Tatjana Strugar
video operation director Francis Corbeil
concept/libreto Zrnka Miskovic

world premiere
commissioned by Ravenna Festival

An extremely personal contemplation of the Divine Comedy, retracing Dante’s footsteps: Polunin and Dante, two rebellious and stateless poets, forced to dig deep within themselves in search of meaning and love—found their respective paradises in art and creativity, striking sparks that lighted up the world. The term Metànoia, Greek for “conversion”, was used by Jung to indicate the soul’s spontaneous attempt at self-healing after a crisis. This new creation is Polunin’s own metànoia, the story of his journey from hell to heaven, of how he found his own divine spark, and demonstrated that salvation is possible. Inferno, Purgatorio, and Paradiso are his triple challenge, with different musicians taking turns on the stage: a challenge none other could take, and one that Polunin has accepted putting his own self on the line.

The Programme