© Zani-Casadio

Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini
conductor and violin
Leōnidas Kavakos

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Violin concerto no. 3 in G major, K. 216
Symphony no. 31 in D major (Paris Symphony), K. 297

Johannes Brahms
Symphony no. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Free roundtrip shuttle service for the events at the Pala De André, leaving from Piazza Farini (in front of the train station).
Departure times: 8.15 pm and 8.30 pm

A third-generation violinist, Leōnidas Kavakos handles his Stradivarius with the ease of a great virtuoso and the awe due to a precious piece of history. The sense of prodigy that has accompanied the Greek musician since his first performances is still intact, in spite of his fifty years of age and the responsibilities of the podium. A feeling that also transpires in the “Italian” cantability, devoid of acrobatics, and unmistakable vivacity permeating the Mozart’s Concerto K. 216, on an orchestral fabric which already shows the solidity of Symphony K. 297. This unicum, destined to the Paris audience, balances expressive innovation against an infallible formal structure. Such solidity, a century later, will not be lacking in Brahms’s first and most painful Symphony.

The Programme