© Silvia Lelli

Orchestre National de Lyon
conductor Leonard Slatkin
violin Anne-Sophie Mutter

Louis-Hector Berlioz
Le Carnaval Romain, ouverture caractéristique op. 9

Toru Takemitsu
In memory of Andrej Tarkovskij
for violin and string orchestra

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Concerto in D minor for violin and orchestra op. 64

Maurice Ravel
Rapsodie Espagnole
Pavane pour une infante défunte
Daphnis et Chloé suite n. 2

“Passion, virtuosity, purity of expression, depth of emotion and an unconditional surrender to the musical expression: everything that constitutes great music”. This was Anne-Sophie Mutter on Mendelssohn’s Concerto, a source of joy and torment for every great violinist. Time does not tarnish the irresistible charm that has distinguished every performance of the German violinist since her début with von Karajan, at the age of sixteen, and the rarefied atmosphere of Takemitsu’s tribute to Tarkovsky, sounds outside of time, as intense as silence, are infused with Mutter’s style and rigour. Berlioz and Ravel complete the programme proposed by Slatkin, born in the US to a family of Russian musicians, and leading the Orchestra of Lyon since 2011.