Opening concert

Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini
conductor Riccardo Muti
piano Maurizio Pollini

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano concert no. 14 in E-flat major KV 449
Piano concert no. 20 in D minor KV 466

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Meeresstille und gluckliche Fahrt (Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage)
Concert overture for orchestra in D major, Op. 27

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

Free roundtrip shuttle service for the events at the Pala De André, leaving from Piazza Farini (in front of the train station).
Departure times: 8.15 pm and 8.30 pm

From the enigmatic and unsettling silence that envelops the unnatural calm of the sea, to the relief of a peaceful landing place: Mendelssohn, inspired by Goethe’s work, saw the sea as a mirror of the human soul; which is, on the other hand, overwhelmed by the relentless obsession of Ravel’s brilliant and enduring dance.These are the suggestions that Riccardo Muti chose as a frame for the timeless ‘Absolute’ of Mozart’s Concertos: KV 449, intimate but punctuated by a “natural” counterpoint, and KV 466, overtly dramatic in its minor key. The concert will renew Muti’s collaboration with Maurizio Pollini, a giant of the piano, whose artistic maturity is marked by extraordinary poetic freedom and unparalleled formal lucidity.

The Programme