© Silvia Lelli

Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini
conductor and pianist
David Fray

Johann Sebastian Bach
Piano concerto in D minor BWV 1052
Piano concerto in A major BWV 1055

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano concerto No. 24 in C minor K 491

Bach and Mozart: two opposing personalities and biographies, two completely withdrawn universes capable of achieving sheerly amazing, unparalleled results in all their works. And yet they are linked by the subtle thread of time: Bach’s rigorous transcriptions for harpsichord — BWV 1052, arranged from an earlier lost violin concerto, or BWV 1055, a reworking of another lost concerto for oboe d’amore — were dedicated to his sons, Christian and Emanuel, who shared the same sensitivity that Mozart later transfigured in the dramatic depth and disarming fatal hues of his Viennese concerts, including K 491. No interpreter could shy away from confrontation with such greatness: Fray has accepted the challenge, and has poured his intelligence and determination into these scores since the very beginning of his career.

1st Part 40’ – Intermission 20’ – 2nd Part 35’
Total 1h 35’

The programme