Quartetto Klimt
Matteo Fossi pianoforte
Duccio Ceccanti violino
Edoardo Rosadini viola
Alice Gabbiani violoncello

Morton Feldman
Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello (1987)

Only the scores by Morton Feldman (one of the greatest US composers of the 20th century), if any, can stir the same feelings aroused by Rothko’s large canvases. The bright and ineffable melancholy of their works leads us into a spatial and temporal dimension where the word “sacred” takes on a new meaning: an absolute experience, which leaves us different and with a different awareness. Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, Feldman’s last work, completed in 1987, the year of his death, expands into a suspended time, into the contemplation of the resonances arising from the repetition of subtly varied fragments, sound textures and patterns unpredictably repeating or alternating with minute changes in an unaltered, inexorable pianissimo.