© Silvia Lelli

In the Veins of America
Tribute to Leonard Bernstein in the centenary of his birth

Orchestra Giovanile Luigi Cherubini
Dennis Russell Davies

piano Emanuele Arciuli

Leonard Bernstein
Symphony no. 2 “The Age of Anxiety”

Philip Glass
Symphony no. 11 (Italian premiere)

Either as a landing point for tours and exiled composers, or as a lab for new artistic trends, America used to be the final frontier in the boundless panorama of Western symphonic music. And the XX century, inaugurated with Charles Ives, found one of its most tireless and eclectic champions in Leonard Bernstein. The second of his three symphonies, titled after W.H. Auden’s poem The Age of Anxiety, is a diagnosis of the human malaise and the vain search for relief scored for solo piano and orchestra. On the other side, Philip Glass, one of the fathers of process music associated with post-Cagean minimalism, recently celebrated his 80th birthday with his 11th symphony, which débuted at Carnegie Hall on January 31, 2017. Its Italian première will be conducted by Dennis Russell Davies, a frequent and fecund collaborator of Glass.

1st Part 40’ – Intermission 20’ – 2nd Part 40’
Total 1h 40’

The programme