© Silvia Lelli

Tribute to Pier Paolo Pasolini
David Fray piano

Johann Sebastian Bach
Goldberg Variations BWV 988

«Is this not the best example of eternity in music? Of a dimension where time is abolished, and all times merge into one?» Once again, David Fray returns to Bach, to whom he has already dedicated several recordings; he inevitably confronts the absolute mystery of the Goldberg Variations, and doubts «whether it is humanly possible to conceive of their immensity, and grasp all their implications. Rather, it will be a different journey for everyone». And so his journey highlights the meditations of a performer who never stops at the score, but claims absolute power of expression from the laws and proportions of music. Because, after the 30 Variations, «when the Aria reappears in its original purity, it is like ending up at the close of your life, and watching it flash before your eyes with the serenity of order rediscovered».

The Programme

Goldberg Variations, BWV 988: Aria & Variation 1
Warner Classics