Budapest Festival Orchestra

Igor’ Stravinskij
“Jeu de Cartes” Suite dal balletto in tre mani

Franz Liszt
Concerto per pianoforte n. 2 in la maggiore S 125
pianoforte Dénes Várjon

Antonín Dvořák
Sinfonia n. 8 in sol maggiore op. 88

In the year of the Danubian Trilogy, a Hungarian atmosphere is also recreated by a most dynamic orchestra, animated by one of its founding fathers and a worthy representative of a prestigious line of conductors: Iván Fischer. Its versatility clearly emerges from the intense programme proposed: from a tribute to Liszt’s piano virtuosity to Dvorak’s symphonic music, which in the Octave is tinged with folk rhythms and melodies, and then Stravinsky’s Jeu de cartes, choreographed by Balanchine, with its skirmishes between the Jacks, the Queens and their armies of Hearts, Diamonds, Clubs and Spades. An ironic score built “using the waste of the so-called brilliant music from the last century, held together in a witchy alchemy” (Massimo Mila).